Unscripted Moments

When do you know you have a great relationship? I know some people would say it’s when you can just look at each other and have an entire conversation just by looking at them. For some, it’s when you say the same thing at the same time. I know quite a few that would say it’s when they hear those magical words… “Can I play?” No matter what your definition of it is, it’s the greatest feeling in the world knowing that you have someone you can always count and rely on. And I’m thrilled to say that I have someone like that.

But let’s be clear, this isn’t some big, new revelation or anything, but after so many posts I thought it was about time I did a post about the person that means the most to me. Gary is a guy that I had seen at work for some time before we actually started talking/seeing each other. One day at work I happened to see him after not having seen him for what felt like a long time. And I don’t know what compelled me to, but I quickly talked to him enough to be able to track him down on Facebook. Because of course, the first thing you do with people is creep.

Finding nothing that rubbed me the wrong way, we started hanging out and our relationship quickly blossomed. I won’t say it’s perfect by no means, but it has been absolutely amazing regardless. But now, we have a complete life together that has us under one roof, and living in something that could be called harmony by some, and controlled chaos by others. And I wouldn’t trade it for anything. But you know the moment I was talking about? Well, I had one with him a while back.

Now I will warn you, it helps to know the song “Love is an Open Door” from Frozen for this. Go ahead and watch it here on YouTube. Got it? Good. Now, at that point where the lyric is, “our mental synchronization…” is when it happened. We were in the house, I think getting ready for something we were doing that day. But, we had the soundtrack to Frozenplaying, and it came up and both of us started to do the movement that both the characters do then. And we were positioned in such a way that we actually bonked our heads together! I remember laughing uncontrollably and it became an inside joke for the longest time.

But, I look back on it now and I truly can’t help but smile. It’s a moment in time I’m always going to have close to me and it shows me a great slice out of our relationship. Thankfully, it’s a playful slice when both of us are on the same page. When we both were on the same page and it was a totally unplanned moment. And those are really the best ones in my book. You could spend month’s setting up the moment where you propose to someone, and you’ll talk about it because of what you do. But that special, unscripted moment will keep being talked about because it’s you and your significant other in the rawest of moments. And when that happens that is when you know, without a doubt, that you have a special connection together.

Published by

lifeandgaymes

Just a 20-something living in the Omaha metro with a devoted boyfriend, posting musings about life and my favorite hobby, video gaming. Expect posts about anything that comes to mind.

Leave a Reply

