New Year’s Resolutions

New Year’s Resolutions are a very fickle thing. Some of us say we’re going to do something just to save face in front of others at a party. You know, when you say you’re going to go to the gym religiously, but really you’re thinking of that leftover pie in the fridge.

Myself, I think it’s a fantastic time to try and take stock of your last year, what you liked, what you didn’t, and find ways to improve upon it. Thing is improvement is different to everyone. So, with this post I hope to outline my resolutions for 2016 to you and explain why I have chosen them as goals.
First up happens to have everything to do with this blog. It has been horrendously neglected over the last few months. The fact that this is my first post since July really speaks to it. In short: I want to write more. Now, I have in mind blog posts, but who knows? Maybe it will expand into other avenues. But the main purpose is to get this blog to have expected postings.
My second resolution sounds a lot more specific, but it really isn’t. I want to be more active in the gaming community. Presently, I have profiles set up on YouTube, Twitch, and Trueachievements.com, but just being there doesn’t feel like it’s enough. What I;d like to see is that I try to stream when I can. I’ve made the determination that I can’t stick to a regular streaming schedule because of things like having a new puppy in the house, feeling like I get interrupted constantly, and that I was playing more for what would get views then what I wanted to play (that took a LOT of figuring out to come to.) But along with that I want to be more active in communities and a local level. As it stands, I don’t know of any groups of gamers in the local area, and I’m just “there” on any online communities.
The next resolution is probably the simplest and hardest one to do. Say “hi” more. See, at work I need to say “hi” to everyone that comes through, and that is well and dandy, but it’s with friends that I ironically have the hardest time with. At the moment I’m that friend that exists, but I never say hi or anything. On Facebook, I creep around, reading about what’s going on in people’s lives like it’s my own personal CNN. My goal is to engage my friends more, wether it’s through social media, or just a text to let them know I haven’t forgotten about them.
Everyone has this resolution, right? I want to get back in shape. If there’s ever a cliche, there it is. But really, I feel like I haven’t done al I could especially with two dogs now, and the ability to work out at home (if I move some furniture). And really, not much is stopping me there, but I need to keep reminding myself, or it simply won’t happen. For me, it’s very much an “out of sight, out of mind” mentality. So how do I get back in shape? Making better food choices and making the time to actively move more. In the past, that’s all it’s taken for me to lose.
Another resolution is about the exact opposite. I want to watch at least one movie a week. That may not seem like much, but sometimes I get so worked up in doing anything/everything else that I don’t take the time to watch any of the movies I keep getting. Ideally, this would also be of movies I haven’t seen, but sometimes the mood strikes and you want to watch that one movie again.
While I’m at it, I’m not giving myself a time limit for this one, as it will really depend on home life and how things go at work, but I want to stream again. I don’t know that I can go to a set schedule but more of a “when I’m able” schedule. As with my earlier mention, it would be whatever strikes my mood.
But there, you go, a few resolutions for the new year, and everyone of them is doable. I hope to hear some of what your resolutions are, so go ahead and leave them in the comments area or write a blog in response! Until next time!
Published by

lifeandgaymes

Just a 20-something living in the Omaha metro with a devoted boyfriend, posting musings about life and my favorite hobby, video gaming. Expect posts about anything that comes to mind.

Leave a Reply

